Befriend Yourself

Beautiful hibiscus in bloom, summer, 2013

Beautiful hibiscus in bloom, summer, 2013

I awoke this morning and looked out the window. There were those white dancing flakes again. I tried to work on a poem I started a couple weeks ago when the green, green grass appeared. But Mother Nature was not cooperating. So I chose to share this poem written by St. Teresa of Avila, a mystic who happened to be born some five hundred years ago today.  Her poem spoke to me of love of self, kindness and caring towards one’s very being. It is an important quality to aspire to; that of being a friend to yourself.  In finding your inner “friend”, you can find God.

LAUGHTER CAME FROM EVERY BRICK

Just these two words He spoke changed my life,

“Enjoy Me.”

What a burden I thought I was to carry –

a crucifix, as did He.

Love once said to me, “I know a song,

would you like to hear it?”

And laughter came from every brick in the street

and from every pore

in the sky.

After a night of prayer, He

changed my life when

He sang,

“Enjoy Me”.

– Teresa of Avila

taken from Poetseers.org

Leave a Reply

